Scottish Football Historical Archive


Search this site
The Winners
Scottish League
Other Leagues
Cups InternationalNationalRegionalCountyDistrictCharity
The War Years
Representative Matches
Club Directory
Site Map
Website Builder

Regional Competitions

There were numerous competitions that extended beyond county borders and covered large swathes of the country.

Senior cups

Alex Jack Cup East of Scotland FA competition first played in 1988, open to clubs that are not full members of the Scottish FA and therefore cannot enter the Scottish Cup.

Bells Cup Highland competition sponsored by the whisky firm, played between 1971 and 1980.

Border Cup Former senior cup competition of the Border FA, open to clubs in South East Scotland. Since 1956 the trophy has been awarded to minor amateur clubs.

Candida Casa Cup Pre-Great War competition for clubs in Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire.

Cafolla Cup Former competition for members of the long defunct Wigtownshire & District FA.

Carmichael Cup Played off by West and Mid Lothian clubs in the late 1890s and early 1900s. The trophy was originally awarded to the winners of the Midlothian League.

Central Counties Championship One-off tournament played at the end of 1903-04 season.

Central League Cup Post Great War competition organised by the Central League.

Chic Allan Memorial Cup Knock-out competition run by the North Caledonian FA first played in 1974-75.

Churchill Cup Open to clubs in the Dumfries and Galloway during the 19th century, this was the forerunner to the Southern Counties Cup.

City Cup East of Scotland FA competition that's been played since 1904.

Cree Lodge Cup Originally a Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire competition, this was opened up to the whole south region in the 1950s.

Dewar Shield Tournament played between the winners of the Forfarshire, Aberdeenshire, Stirlingshire and Perthshire Cups to determine the 'champions of the northern counties'

Dumfries and Galloway Cup Competition run by the long defunct Dumfries and Galloway FA.

Dunedin Cup Edinburgh-based competition which also featured other invited clubs.

Eastern Cup Organised during the Great War by the Eastern League.

Eastern League Cup Competition run in 1945-46 by the Eastern League.

East of Scotland Consolation Cup EoSFA competition played between 1882 and 1928 for clubs knocked out of the Shield and Qualifying Cup.

East of Scotland Qualifying Cup Results for this qualifying competition of the EOS Shield (1897-98 to 1939 only)

East of Scotland Shield The second oldest competition in Scotland, first played for in 1875, it is now played-off by the youth players of Hibernian and Heart of Midlothian.

Edinburgh Cup Original name for the East of Scotland Shield, won outright by Hibernian in 1881.

Glasgow and West of Scotland Shield Tournament played to decide who would hold the championship trophy for the disbanded GWOSL.

High Cup A series of matches played between Dundee and Aberdeen

King Cup Competition for members of the East of Scotland FA.

Law Galloway Cup Played for by Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire clubs from 1889 to 1907, this was once regarded as the most prestigious competition in the south.

Loftus Cup Invitational competition for clubs from the east and central area. It was renamed the Wallace Cup from 1921.

Mitchell Cup Alternate name for the war-time North Eastern League Cup.

North Eastern Cup Played  between 1908 and 1914, the McCrae Cup was previously played for as the East of Scotland League.

North Eastern League Cup War-time competition played during WW2.

Paul Shield Trophy awarded to the winners of the Border Senior League and East of Scotland League champions between 1897 and 1953. It was also played for on occasions as a knock-out competition.

Penman Cup Competition which was open to invited clubs in east and central Scotland.

Potts Cup Open to clubsin membership of the Southern Counties FA, first played in 1901.

Robertson Cup Competition played between various Scottish league clubs between 1908 and 1932.

Southern Counties Cup Principal competition for the south of Scotland region, first played in 1891.

Southern Counties Consolation Cup Played from 1898 to 1927, this was open to clubs knocked out during the early rounds of the Southern Counties Cup. The trophy was subsequently awarded to the winners of the South of Scotland Cup.

South of Scotland Cup Previously the Southern Counties Consolation Cup, between 1927 and 1931 this was open to all clubs.

South Western Counties Cup Played in the early 1930s between the four Scottish League clubs from Ayrshire and Renfrewshire.

Wallace Cup Previously called the Loftus Cup, during the 1920s it was played between St Johnstone and Dundee United.

Western Cup Ran by the West of Scotland League between 1916 and 1923.

West of Scotland Cup Competition for those clubs excluded from membership of the Scottish FA between 1877 and 1879 as they had no private grounds.

Wigtownshire and District Cup Between 1890 and 1973, played for by clubs from Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire.

Wigtownshire and Kirkcudbrightshire Cup Alternate name for the Cafolla Cup.


Junior cups

Angus and Mearns Cup Short-lived competition played between 1921 and 1923 between clubs from Forfarshire and Kincardineshire.

Border Junior Cup Short lived competition that ran just before and after the Great War.

British Legion Cup For clubs in Dumfries and district.

Dudley Cup Competition for junior and reserve elevens in the Borders. Between 1908 and 1911 it was presented to the winners of the Border Junior League.

Dumfries and District Amateur Junior League Supplementary League Cup One-off cup competition played in 1949-50.

Dumfries and Galloway Junior Cup Played between 1919 and 1926.

Dumfries and Galloway Junior Shield Knock-out competition played between 1919 and 1926, the last one in 1925-26 being played as in league format.

Johnstone-Currie Cup For clubs in Dumfries and district.

Mid Argyll Possil Cup competition for clubs in Argyll.

Musselburgh Cup Played from 1901 to 1936, this was open to clubs throughout the Lothians.

Orr Ewing Cup Competition for clubs in Argyll.

Scottish Intermediate Cup Competition run by the breakaway Scottish Intermediate FA between 1927 and 1931.

Scottish Intermediate Consolation Cup Open to clubs knocked out in the earlier rounds of the Scottish Intermediate Cup.

Scottish Intermediate League Cup Competition run by the breakaway Scottish Intermediate league between 1927 and 1931.

Simpson Shield Open to clubs across the Lothians between 1892 and 1922.

Sutherland Cup Despite its reference to the northermost county, this competition was for clubs in Argyll.

Wyper Medals played for once, in 1881-82 season for clubs in Dumfriesshire and Kirkcudbrightshire.